A Return to Form …

Wait … what?

If that was your initial reaction to seeing the new artwork for The Landkist Saga along with old and once-familiar titles, I don’t blame you.

To try to make a very long story a bit shorter, The Landkist Saga is going back to its original titles. While I can’t get into ALL of the details here, this largely has to do with algorithmic changes at both Amazon and the incredibly infuriating and highly influential Goodreads platform. In fairness, these issues were so weird that even Amazon Publishing employees were surprised at how confused the database was regarding the new versions of The Landkist Saga.

When we relaunched The Landkist Saga, Monolith Books and I took a calculated gamble, changing the original titles while leaving the series name unchanged. Part of this decision came down to promoting a new lease on life for the series, since the prose has been reworked, and there were significant changes to the earlier volumes, and we thought it made some sense to hit a new audience by matching the new titles to the new artwork by the ultra talented Pierre Reveneau. 

That said, the title changes not only resulted in the aforementioned algorithmic issues (which can lead to a whole host of problems for the publisher, from advertising campaigns to review linking, edition linking, etc.) but said changes also just flat-out confused my existing readers and new readers alike. 

Lesson learned.

Sometimes, the only thing we can do in these cases is admit to a bad call and try to react accordingly. Effective immediately, The Landkist Saga is BACK, like it never left, with the original titles returning to grace Raveneau’s new artwork.

Aside from smoothing out the issues with Goodreads listings, Amazon search functionality and algorithmic confusion, one huge silver lining to this whole thing is that the original Landkist titles just … work on Pierre’s artwork. In fact, I think they look rather stunning, and I hope you agree.

Books 1-3 (Valley of Embers, The Emerald Blade, The Midnight Dunes,) are going live this month, while Book 4-5 (The Frostfire Sage, The Forever Night,) will follow, likely in the Summer and Fall, before the never before released Books 6-7 (The World Apart, Valley of Ashes,) release in 2022.

Emberblade Launch Day!

Hello readers!

A new Landkist era is upon us!

Emberblade represents the re-written, re-edited, slightly special extended edition of The Landkist Saga Book 1, formerly known as Valley of Embers.

The team at Monolith Books has done an awesome job on the production side of things, and the audiobook from Peter Kenny (narrator of The Witcher series) is done and will be out in a matter of weeks. (Whenever Amazon makes it live …)

I know many of you have already bought and read Valley of Embers, but if you’re a completionist, fancy that new cover artwork, want the best version of Landkist Book 1 possible, or if you’re new here and just haven’t tried the series, now’s the time!

Order Emberblade Today!

Emberblade Cover Reveal!

The gods answer to no one. Kole Reyna plans to change that.

When a war between ancient Sages threatens the world, Kole resolves to kill them once and for all. Not just for the Emberfolk he has sworn to protect, but for the mother he lost at the Sages’ corrupt hands.

As the need for vengeance threatens to consume him, Kole struggles to control his inner fire, the fiercest flames to burn within an Ember warrior in generations.

With his people hanging on the precipice, he must discover the limits of the one power he fears above all else.

His own.

Emberblade releases March 8, 2021, and is available now for pre-order.

Audio is soon to follow, narrated by Peter Kenny, voice of The Witcher Saga.

What do Kole of Last Lake and Geralt of Rivia Have in Common?


After hinting a few months back, I am pleased to announce that The Landkist Saga has been signed by Monolith Books, a new Epic Fantasy and Sci-Fi imprint from the founders of Portal Books in the UK. The news was even announced by Publisher’s Weekly! So that was kind of surreal/bizarre for me.

The Landkist Saga has been a labor of love for me, and the team at Monolith Books is putting their all into the re-release of the series, with Books 1-5 undergoing some rewrites and new edits to bring them all up to snuff, while the as-yet-unwritten Books 6-7 will be produced from the ground up with Monolith.

Additionally, all seven novels will release with brand new cover artwork … and perhaps the most exciting bit of news is that The Landkist Saga will be getting brand new audiobook editions narrated by one of the top voice talents in the world in Peter Kenny!

That means Kole Reyna of Last Lake, Talmir Caru of Hearth and the Landkist cast is going to share a voice actor with Geralt of Rivia and Yennefer of Vengerberg from The Witcher Saga.

Look for the all-new Book 1 to release in the spring of 2021 (like, early enough spring as to be considered winter,) with sequels to follow closely on its heels. Another thank you to all of the readers who made Landkist the independent success it has been, and made this deal possible in the first place.

Landkist is in good hands.

Sword Punk Launch!


Monolith Books has released my new Cyberpunk Martial Arts novel, Sword Punk: Saving Seoul.

And yes, this is totally the mystery side project I’ve been teasing for months.

When I originally pitched this series as “Daredevil meets Bloodsport meets Street Fighter meets Akira,” I was mildly surprised that they actually said yes. Early feedback is quite strong. If you’re looking for a fun, funny, occasionally brutal action sci-fi romp in the style of an 80s action thriller, you’re going to like Sword Punk. 

The Kindle edition is currently available on Amazon. And the team at Soundbooth Theater will be releasing the audio edition (with a whole dang cast of professional actors, synthwave music and sound effects,) soon!